Park City Municipal COVID-19 Updates:

News & Updates

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Park City Transit Awarded $1.080M Low-No Emission Grant from Federal Transit Administration

Post Date:06/10/2020 5:51 PM

City-County Logos 

Park City Transit Awarded $1.080M Low-No Emission Grant from Federal Transit Administration

Grant will help fund the purchase of charging infrastructure to meet the needs of Park City Transit’s electric bus service expansion.


PARK CITY, UTAH (June 9, 2020) – The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Transit Administration (FTA) has awarded Park City Transit a $1.080M grant through their highly competitive Low-or-No-Emission Technologies program. The Utah Department of Transportation will receive grant funds on behalf of Park City Transit, which jointly services Park City and Summit County, to support the purchase of charging stations to meet the needs of Park City Transit’s electric bus service expansion.

The FTA Low-or-No-Emission (Low-No) Grant program funds the deployment of transit buses and infrastructure for the purchase or lease of zero-emission and low-emission transit buses and supporting facilities. For the current grant cycle, FTA focused on the introduction of new technology not commonly found within U.S. transit systems. Forty-one projects in 40 states and the District of Columbia were selected to receive funding through the program.

“Electric transit, powered by Utah-based renewable electricity, improves air quality while supporting jobs in rural Utah. Our community is committed to leading on climate, and this grant moves us closer to becoming 100% renewable and net-zero carbon by 2030,” said Park City Mayor Andy Beerman.

“The federal Lo-No grant program is a great way for Summit County and Park City to leverage the local financial commitments that our citizens have made in public transit, to advance our efforts to make our systems more sustainable and have less of an environmental impact,” County Manager Tom Fisher said. “Leveraging these federal funds towards our local transportation and sustainability goals are one the best ways for our governments to achieve our aggressive targets in lowering greenhouse gas emissions.”

Over the past four years, the FTA has awarded $5.480M in Low-No Emission grants to Park City Transit which has been used to purchase 13 state-of-the-art, battery electric buses to create the Electric Xpress, an all-electric bus-rapid transit corridor connecting the Old Town Transit Center in Park City with the Kimball Junction Transit Center in Summit County. Since its launch in June 2016, over 1,456,268 passengers have boarded the Electric Xpress, which is the highest mileage all electric transit system in the U.S. Park City Transit has been providing fare-free transit to the greater Park City community for over 40 years.





Linda Jager
Community Engagement Manager
Park City Municipal Corporation

Derek Siddoway                                                       
Communications Director                                             
Summit County                                                                                 


About Park City Municipal Corporation
Park City Municipal Corporation is the government seat for Park City, Utah. A former silver mining town, Park City is now home to two world-class ski resorts and was the mountain host for the 2002 Salt Lake City Olympic Winter Games. The town of 8,000 also hosts many special events, including the Sundance Film Festival and the Kimball Arts Festival. For more information, please visit


About Summit County
Located in the northeast corner of Utah along the Wasatch Back, Summit County is home to more than 41,000 residents. Created in 1854, Summit County was named for the summits of the mountains, including 39 of the highest mountain peaks in Utah. Six municipalities make up Summit County, including Coalville, Francis, Henefer, Kamas, Oakley and Park City. The county seat is quiet, scenic Coalville, located on the I-80 corridor. For more information, visit

Return to full list >>