Public Art Advisory Board

Print

Public Art Advisory Board Meeting Information

The next regularly scheduled meeting will be held on Monday, November 14, 2016.
Agenda

The Public Art Advisory Board generally meets at 5:00 P.M. on the 2nd Monday of each month, or as needed, in the Executive Conference Room at the Marsac Building, 445 Marsac Avenue.  For more information contact Jenny Diersen, staff liaison to the Park City Public Art Advisory Board.

Scheduled meeting dates for 2016 are November 14, and December 12, 2016.

Scheduled meeting dates for 2017 are January 9, February 13, March 13, April 10, May 8, June 12, July 10, August 14, September 11, October 9, November 13, December 11, 2017.

Public Art Map

TERM
EXPIRES
NAME EMAIL
6/17 Holly Erickson, Chair hollyerickson12@gmail.com
6/17 Kathy Kahn, Vice Chair skibuming@msn.com
6/17 Stephanie Bass stephbass22@yahoo.com
6/19 Jocelyn Scudder Jocelyn.scudder@kimballartcenter.org
6/19 Alex Butwinski jalexbu@gmail.com
6/19 Beth Armstrong  beth@phcpc.org
6/19 Jenny Dorsey jrdorsey01@gmail.com
NON-VOTING MEMBERS
Jenny Diersen,
Park City Municipal Corp
jenny.diersen@parkcity.org
Hadley Dynak, Executive Director,
Park City Summit County Arts Council
hadley@pcscarts.org
Nann Worel,
City Council Liaison
nann.worel@parkcity.org
Jack Thomas,
City Council Alternate Liaison
jack.thomas@parkcity.org
Jason Glidden,
Park City Municipal Corp
jglidden@parkcity.org

                       



Public Art Advisory Board

The Park City Council approved funding  for public art projects in June of 2003.  In December 2003, after working closely with the Park City Summit County Arts Council, a policy was adopted forming the Public Art Advisory Board. In August of 2016, the Public Art Advisory Board updated their policies.

The primary functions/responsibilities of the Public Art Advisory Board are:

  1. Review a cultural assessment of the Park City community.
  2. Create a Public Art Plan  that would include public art policy refinements and recommendations of expenditures of the Public Art Fund.  Ensure that public art is safe, accessible, durable, and compatible with community standards. .
  3. Establish guidelines for implementation of the Public Art Policy, including methods of selecting artists and commissioning works of art.  Process must be consistent with City purchasing procedures. To supplement the Plan and the Policy, in 2010 the Board developed a Strategic Plan.   
  4. Process public art proposals submitted to Park City Municipal and make recommendations regarding appropriations for works of art and art projects to the City Manager.
  5. Review, on an annual basis, the artwork projects of the Public Art Policy as a reflection of the program's intent, and recommend appropriate maintenance requirements.
  6. Make recommendations for future funding of the Public Art Fund.
  7. Make recommendations for the establishment of a contribution percentage for art based on construction cost of public and private development.

Once the Public Art Advisory Board makes recommendations to City Council, the Council shall have final approval.